100 Years SRC, Back in the Day, Documentary, Drama, Seeing the Story, SRC 2022, Starlight Book Reviews

Seeing the Story – Errol Morris’ A Brief History of Time (1991)

Poster for film: A Brief History of Time | Movie Poster Source: Wikipedia

Seeing the Story/ Review of Book to Screen Adaptation

Released in 1991.

All screen adaptations will be referred to in the following format “Title (Date).”

3.7/5 Last week, I shared my Starlight Book Review (SBR) of Stephen Hawking’s A Brief History of Time. As I strategized my reading for the Back in the Day Stellar Reading Challenge (SRC), I noticed a screen adaptation of sorts of A Brief History of Time existed. Then, I read that Errol Morris’ A Brief History of Time (1991) not only talked of Hawking’s book but focused on Hawking himself. I also seized the chance to watch and review a documentary on my blog.

Click here to read my SBR of Stephen Hawking’s A Brief History of Time.

Click here to learn more about the Back in the Day SRC.

“A film about the life and work of the cosmologist, Stephen Hawking, who despite his near total paralysis, was one of the great minds of all time.” (IMDb) … “Unlike the book, this film is really an anecdotal biography of Stephen Hawking. Clips of his lectures, interviews with friends and family and a little physics are thrown together.”—Jim Sadur <jsadur@keyflux.com>

I nearly considered bestowing A Brief History of Time (1991) with more than one rating. Approaching this as a biographical documentary about Hawking, I felt Morris deserved more stars. I appreciated learning about Hawking’s stellar life (please forgive the pun) and how Hawking and others viewed him. As an adaptation, though, A Brief History of Time (1991) seemed lacking. I enjoyed the visuals but felt this worked better as a short film rather than a ninety minute or so back and forth between Hawking’s life and this particular book.

Quotes come from description on IMDb and are featured on color blocks. Click here to access this webpage.