700s - Arts & Recreation, 750s - Painting, Audiobooks, B Biography/Memoir, Nonfiction, Print, Starlight Book Reviews, Young Adult Literature

Starlight Book Review – Vincent and Theo: The Van Gogh Brothers

Cover of Vincent and Theo: The Van Gogh Brothers by Deborah Heiligman on light yellow background | Cover Image Source: Goodreads

4/5 As an avid fan of the works of Vincent van Gogh, I admit to a passing knowledge of the late 19th Century artist. Also, I learned two individuals instrumental in his posthumous fame — his sister in-law Johanna Bonger and his brother, Theo van Gogh. Over the years, I sought a biography of Vincent and noticed Vincent and Theo: The Van Gogh Brothers by Deborah Heiligman on the shelf. Speaking of shelves, I mentally placed it on my To Be Read (TBR) Shelf. Late this summer, I finally moved this book to my “Read” Shelf.

“The deep and enduring friendship between Vincent and Theo Van Gogh shaped both brothers’ lives. Confidant, champion, sympathizer, friend, Theo supported Vincent as he struggled to find his path in life. They shared everything, swapping stories of lovers and friends, successes and disappointments, dreams and ambitions. Meticulously researched, drawing on the 658 letters Vincent wrote to Theo during his lifetime, Deborah Heiligman weaves a tale of two lives intertwined and the love of the Van Gogh brothers.”

I read this book in two formats — audio and print. While the print shared beautiful depictions, some by Vincent and some à la Vincent. I also liked seeing the spellings of names of people and places. The audio provided me with ideas of how to pronounce these names. Heiligman wrote for a Young Adult audience and she executed this well. She provided enough information in a narrative way without being condescending nor evasive on harsh facts of the lives of the Van Gogh Brothers. I felt Heiligman let the people in Vincent and Theo… tell the story and she curated. I recommend Vincent and Theo… to those wanting to learn more about the lives of these two.

Quotes come from book flaps/cover and are featured on color blocks.

1 thought on “Starlight Book Review – Vincent and Theo: The Van Gogh Brothers”

Leave a comment